1984

I love this book and really glad that I re-read it. An appropriate follow-up from the last book that I read, First They Killed My Father, which was just as insane and horrifying, but it was real.  George Orwell sure knows how to write and the book brought back chills from when I first read it.

My only gripe though: I forgot how long the “torture” portion of the book lasted, and that is why it took me almost a week and some change to finish the last 30 pages.  It was so boring and kept going around in circles… *Yawn*  But still, this is one of the best books about societies ever written.

I am taking a break from crazy totalitarian regimes and going to read a really interesting book that I have been wanting to read for years: Freakonomics.  Sure to be a good read (What do school teachers and sumo wrestlers have in common?  They both cheat!).  And if I like it that much, I will buy the new book: SuperFreakonomics.

1984-signet1981

One Response

  1. […] just about everyone read in high school.  I thought that I would pick it up again, after finishing 1984.  I had forgotten how short the book was, as I finished it in just under two days.  A reminder […]

Leave a comment