Garden Update – Day ??

I stopped keeping a journal. The days started blending into weeks and then I just gave up on it. I have a pretty green thumb (if I don’t say so myself!), so I struggle with just writing “All is well” day in day out. Currently the plants are hiding in the garage from the bitch of a storm that we have had for the past two days.

The romanesco is doing well!

Last week there were two nights that the temperatures were supposed to drop to the high 30s but when I went out in the morning there was frost. Which effectively killed off 6 of my Golden Midget watermelon plants. Now I am nursing the last two survivors and they are not doing well. I think that I should start over. Pretty cool how their foliage is yellow from the start though!  Some of my other plants (Squash, cucumbers) were effected and some of the leaves got frost bite (Is that the correct term?) but seem to still be healthy. Transplanting more and more of the plants into various 1 or 5 gallon containers that Whitney and I spray painted to give them a spiffy new look.

Leave a Reply

