Chicken Update

The chickens have started laying again after a brief break during the coldest, wettest part of the winter.  Now the three little troopers are back in egg laying mode and keeping their stay!  I hadn’t checked the nesting box (a.k.a milk crate, which they love I might add) for 4 days and I hit jackpot!  11 beautiful eggs ready for collecting!  These ladies are not wasting any time getting into the swing of things.  Now onto the bone that I have to pick…

Chicken poop. 

It is not smelly like some people want you to believe and it really is beneficial to the soil and grass.  The real issue is that it gets EVERYWHERE!  We let the chickens free range all over the backyard and one of their favorite haunts became the side, concrete patio.  Well, suffice to say, Whitney, Nate and I just had enough of stepping in chicken poop and even worse, not noticing and tracking it into the house!  Over the weekend, I bought a fifty foot roll of poultry fencing and made a chicken corral.  It is only three feet tall and I am concerned that the girls will want all of the freedom they have come to know and expect and fly over the fence.  If they do so I am going to have to clip their wings, even though I really don’t want to.  I clipped their wings when they were little pullets, and it seemed rather traumatizing to them…

Leave a Reply

